Faculty Excellence Awards

Faculty Excellence Awards Photo: Spencer Sandstrom

The College of Fine Arts at the University of Utah is dedicated to supporting a diverse and dynamic learning community that fosters continuous growth and development in teaching, research and service for all faculty members (tenure-line, career-line, adjunct, and visiting).

To recognize significant contributions to the College of Fine Arts, two faculty members are chosen each year to receive the College of Fine Arts Faculty Excellence Awards. These awards recognize outstanding distinction in one of two areas: Teaching or Research. Criteria leading to a nomination may include innovative pedagogy, exemplary contributions to the educational process inside and outside the classroom, integration of student involvement with research opportunities, or excellence in creative or scholarly research.


To be eligible, faculty must have at least five years of teaching service at the University of Utah. Tenured, tenure-track, and career-line faculty at or above .75 FTE are eligible. Recipients of other University-wide teaching awards must wait five years prior to being eligible for consideration for the CFA Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award.  Faculty members who have received other University-wide honorary research awards within the past 5 years are not eligible for the CFA Faculty Excellence in Research Award (this does not include University-wide research grants).

Each award includes a $1000 honorarium, and recipients of the CFA Faculty Excellence Awards were honored at both the College of Fine Arts Convocation on May 5, 2017 and the College of Fine Arts Awards Banquet on September 26, 2017.

For criteria & nomination instructions for 2018, please check back later.

Former recipients: 

Excellence in Teaching: Sandy Brunvand (Art & Art History)
Excellence in Research: Lien Fan Shen (Film & Media Arts)

Excellence in Teaching: Pamela Jones (Music)
Excellence in Research: Eric Handman (Modern Dance)

Excellence in Teaching: Tim Slover (Theatre)
Excellence in Research: Ed Bateman (Art & Art History)

Excellence in Teaching: Chris Lippard (Film & Media Arts)
Excellence in Research: Sarah Shippobotham (Theatre)

Excellence in Teaching: Pamela Geber Handman (Modern Dance)
Excellence in Research: Beth Krensky (Art & Art History)

Excellence in Teaching: Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell (Theatre)
Excellence in Research: Elena Shtromberg (Art & Art History)