Distinguished Alumni

Join the College of Fine Arts in celebrating the 2016/2017 Distinguished Alumni at the annual Legacy Assembly. With live performances from current students and highlights from the careers and accomplishments of this year's honoree cohort, the Distinguished Alumni Awards Legacy Assembly brings together a community of artists to honor their significant contributions to each respective area.

We are thrilled this year to honor:

  • Art & Art History: Brad Smith
  • Dance: Linda C. Smith
  • Film & Media Arts: Tori Baker
  • Music: Adelaide Sinclair
  • Theatre: Jeff Frank

Distinguisehd Alumni Awards Banquet 
September 28, 2016 | 5:30p 
Varsity Room in Rice Eccles Stadium
The award ceremony for our five Distinguished Alumni and the College of Fine Arts Faculty and Staff Excellence Award recipients: 

  • Faculty Excellence Award in Research: Associate Professor Eric Handman (Modern Dance) 
  • Faculty Excellence Award in Teaching: Associate Professor (Lecturer) Pamela Jones (School of Music) 
  • Staff Excellence Award: Spencer Kellogg from the School of Music

*As always, CFA faculty and staff members can attend for free, and this year, we’re allowing them to bring guests if they’d like for $50 a ticket.

Purchase tickets here.

Distinguished Alumni Awards Legacy Assembly
September 29, 2016  |  10:45a-12:15p
Kingsbury Hall
Featuring presentations from the five academic units of the College of Fine Arts

pdfStudents: download the official 2016 Excusal Letter here 

Past Recipients

Fall 2015 

  • Art & Art History, Michael Mabry
  • Ballet, Bené Arnold
  • Film & Media Arts, Genéa Gaudet
  • Modern Dance, Phyllis Haskell Tims
  • Music, Gregory Brown
  • Theatre, Randy Reyes

Fall 2014

  • Art & Art History, Christine Panushka
  • Ballet, Julia Gleich
  • Film & Media Arts, Jan Andrews
  • Modern Dance, Tamara Riewe
  • Music, Barbara Scowcroft
  • Theatre, Marilyn Caskey

Fall 2013

  • Tom Antista and Thomas Fairclough, Art & Art History
  • Derryl Yeager, Ballet
  • Paul Battista, Film & Media Arts
  • Ann Carlson, Modern Dance
  • Brian Hulse, Music
  • Leo Geter, Theatre

Fall 2012

  • Bruce Lindsey, Art & Art History
  • Sandra Allen, Ballet
  • Trent Harris, Film & Media Arts
  • Keith Johnson, Modern Dance
  • Raymond Chobaz, Music
  • Timothy McCuen Piggee, Theatre

Fall 2011

  • Charles R. Loving, Art & Art History
  • Jiang Qi, Ballet
  • Alex Beckstead, Film & Media Arts
  • Della Davidson, Modern Dance
  • Christoph Luty, Music
  • Anne Cullimore Decker, Theatre

Spring 2011

  • Richard Taylor, Art & Art History
  • Bart Cook, Ballet
  • Christine K. Walker, Film & Media Arts
  • Bill Evans, Modern DanceCelena Shafer, Music
  • Kenneth Washington, Theatre

Spring 2010

  • Mario Naves, Art & Art History
  • Douglas C. Sontaag, Ballet
  • Max Adams, Film & Media Arts
  • Stephen Koplowitz, Modern Dance
  • Heath Wolf, Music
  • Klea Blackhurst, Theatre

Spring 2009

  • Ken Little, Art & Art History
  • Victoria Morgan, Ballet
  • Isaac Chung, Film & Media Arts
  • Gesel Mason, Modern Dance
  • Stanford Olsen, Music
  • Michael Ensign Evans, Theatre